Mark Richard Dawson

4 min read Jul 08, 2024
Mark Richard Dawson

Mark Richard Dawson

Mark Richard Dawson is a British author known for his thriller and suspense novels. He is particularly renowned for his John Milton series, which features a private investigator who works for a shadowy organization known as The Department.

Early Life and Career

Dawson was born in 1973 and grew up in Essex, England. He studied English Literature at the University of Essex, and after graduating, he worked in various jobs, including as a marketing executive and a journalist.

He began writing in his late twenties and published his first novel, "The Philosopher's Apprentice", in 2005. This was followed by several other novels, including "The Secret Keeper" and "The First Born".

The John Milton Series

Dawson's breakout success came with the John Milton series. The first book in the series, "The Department", was published in 2012. The series has since become a bestseller and has been translated into multiple languages.

The John Milton series is known for its fast-paced action, intriguing plots, and complex characters. The novels often explore themes of conspiracy, espionage, and the dark side of human nature.

Other Works

Besides the John Milton series, Dawson has written several other novels, including:

  • "The Last Man": A science fiction novel set in a post-apocalyptic world.
  • "The Boy in the Suitcase": A thriller about a missing boy and a detective who is determined to find him.
  • "The Girl on the Train": A psychological thriller based on the popular novel by Paula Hawkins.

Writing Style

Dawson is known for his engaging writing style, which is both thrilling and suspenseful. He is also adept at creating complex characters with compelling backstories. His novels are often characterized by fast-paced plots, twists and turns, and a sense of realism.


Mark Richard Dawson is considered one of the leading authors of contemporary thrillers. His novels have been praised for their action, suspense, and character development. He continues to write and publish new novels, and his work continues to be enjoyed by readers around the world.